My Words

Introvert In A Noisy World

“Solitude matters, and for some people, it's the air they breathe.” -Susan Cain - TheCuriousGemini

I am an extreme introvert and I got it from my father. This side of me requires that I take ‘time-outs’ it does not matter where I am I need time to step away and just take a breather. I need time to recharge before I join the noisy world again. This has been a trick that worked for me for awhile now, I have found that if I don’t recharge I become very grumpy and you would not want to be anywhere near me.

“We didn't know you were an introvert, we thought you were just a bitch.” -Sophia Dembling - TheCuriousGemini

 

At home my family understands this about me that sometimes I just need to be left alone and when I am ready I will join the family in whatever activity is planned. Work is a place that has been exhausting me lately. My job is of such a nature that I interact with so many people at one time that it is really draining. I know University didn’t prepare me for this at all, because at varsity I could decide who I wanted to interact with and for how long so I could control that. I have been yearning for a new job one I will have less interactions and less noise (if that is possible). However, now I am here, an introvert in a noisy world.

Fellow introverts, how do you deal with this? Please help a very exhausted girl out….

9 thoughts on “Introvert In A Noisy World

  1. I’m also an introvert, so I understand this perfectly. I’m not sure if I’ve noticed that I get grumpy, but I definitely need my solitude. I’ve had a very friendly extroverted woman who wanted to do activities with me, and I’m not sure she understands that, while sometimes I do want activity and adventure, I may not be up to doing as much as often as she does. I also need solitude for my writing time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have actually lost extrovert friends who didn’t understand that I value solitude. I wonder if not talking up is also an introvert thing. Thank you for sharing

      Like

  2. I’m an introvert though most people don’t know I am because I talk about things that interest me with lots of enthusiasm – and I’m active on social media. But the thing is, being introvert isn’t about whether I like people or not, it’s about how much I can deal with all the sensory and social demands on my energy! I’ve had to learn to stop, breathe, earth out, get away from noise and have solitude on a regular basis, otherwise my health (fibromyalgia and mood stuff) just gets a bit overwhelming.
    I deal with it by keeping my home relatively quiet. By using social media instead of face-to-face (because I can decide how much and how often I put my energy out). By ensuring I have creative things I can do – photography, silversmithing, reading, gardening. And by letting people know I just don’t do parties or loud busy environments (bars with lots of music and talking). And if I do need to attend social events I make sure I have down time before and after.
    Our world is so tuned to extroverts that it’s difficult to remember that before we could travel around as easily, before TV, before the internet, we actually spent more time in quiet. Not such a bad thing, really.

    Like

  3. As a fellow introvert, I can relate to this post. It’s been my experience that people mistake being an introvert for being shy or reluctant to speak on one’s own behalf. That used to irritate me, but now it’s amusing to think that because I don’t feel the need to constantly run my mouth or be the center of attention (or pursue the camaraderie of those who do), that translates to some people as my being meek in nature. To me, it simply means I spend less time with my foot in my mouth than many around me do (smiles).

    As for how I deal, it helps, I suppose, that I’m something of a night owl (and when necessity demands it, an early riser). My downtime comes after my little ones and spouse go to bed (and/or on weekends, before they awaken in the morning); that typically affords me a couple of hours to decompress in solitude, whether that means watching a bit of TV in peace, having a drink, enjoying some music, catching up on my reading, or some other activity that doesn’t not depend on the involvement of other people. This is when I’m at my most contented, and arguably my most productive.

    Thank you for raising an intriguing topic we can all learn from,
    Anthony

    Like

  4. i get to the office an hour earlier…so when my colleagues arrive they most certainly know i am around, although my office door is closed…i have politely informed them that i am not a morning person…i do not mean to be rude or anti social but i will open my door and chat along when i am ready to do so…they have accepted it as such…plus i am mostly lucky enough to be in control of my calendar, so i schedule meetings at times convenient to me…back at home i have my tv and laptop setup in my bedroom…once i am done preparing dinner and helping with homework and bath time etc, i retire to my room for the evening…even friends know not to invite me for any Sunday activities, because that entire day is for me, even if i spend it doing household chores in silence!! i guess it’s all about letting the people around you know how you operate and having them understand that it’s nothing against them at all…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gloria you have a great system in place that really works. I would love to have this sort of organized life at work as well. I sit in an open plan office so there is no privacy 😦 but at home it works very well. Guess I will need to spend alot of time in toilet alone.

      Like

  5. what could work in an open plan setup is probably having your desk positioned in such a way that you are not directly looking into someone else all day long…that might help 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts <3

