My Words

A Lesson From My Mother

I never knew a man come to greatness or eminence who lay abed late in the morning.- Jonathan Swift | TheCuriousGemini

Today is Mother’s Day and as I celebrate one of the most amazing woman in the world, I would like to reflect on one of the lessons she taught me. When I saw this quote pop up on my phone this morning, I could not help but smile because it reminded me of my mother. I have a hard working mother, she was a mid-wife nurse for more than 25 years and retired about 3 years ago and for as long as I can remember my mother hardly slept. She always has something to do around the house. My sisters and I thought she would slow down once she retired but I guess that will not be happening. My mother wakes up at around 4:30 am to fry the most delicious fish I have tasted (once you taste one of her reds, you will never forget it). She than sells the fish near my house till around 5 pm. Between the time she wakes up and 5 pm, she manages to prepare breakfast and lunch for my dad, make sure he gets his insulin shot and all his medication, water the million plants we have in the yard (our small yard is crowded by different plants and trees), have time to chat to a million people (she knows almost everyone – nurse for more than 25 years), do chores around the house and go to the gym.

Growing up I remember my mother telling us that nothing good comes from sleeping in every day. One would think weekends are times you can sleep till noon, but not in our house. A part of me envied people who where allowed to sleep till late at least during the weekends, as this was unheard off in my house. The earlier you wake up the sooner you finish all your chores for the day and you can be free for the rest of the day and as I get older I am thankful for this lesson that my mother installed in me from an early age.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the women who wear many hats from being care givers, role models and teachers. Thank you for all that you do for us ❤️

Share your thoughts <3

