My Words

Letting Go

Drop It, Leave It, Let It Go | TheCuriousGemini

A few years ago I read The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz and one of the agreement is Don’t Take Anything Personal. I have always been quite sensitive and take offence really fast, and as you can imagine this has made my life a bit difficult because you can never control what other say or react towards you. Personally I only had one way of dealing with this kind of situation, firstly I would switch that particular person out of my life, they seize to exist. This trick worked for me when I was younger, but as I get older and find myself in the workplace that has people with different personalities  one cannot rally cut this people off. You are forced to interact with them in a mature manner.

This morning I realised I need a long term solution to completely letting go…. Any suggestions?

8 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. I totally understand when you say that people seize to exist for you as I do the same as well. But as far as colleagues are concerned, I think it is only a working relationship with them and i normally do not invest in emotionally at all. The long term solution is to make sure that you value your happiness more than your anger.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How I wish someone had told me this before I started work “do not invest in emotionally at all”. This is one of the best career advice I have ever read. Thank you for the tip happiness over anger ALWAYS

      Like

      1. This is great advice that I’ve been working with myself. By treating my emotions as actual currency, I’m much more selective when it comes to spending & investing them. Smiles are free, anger costs too much, & inner peace is priceless…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Personally, I find it helps to look at the big picture and understand where you and the people around you fit into the larger scheme of things. Once you have that understanding, it becomes easier to stop personalising things. I learnt this art through experience. Once you understand what makes someone else tick, you realise that their behaviour has little to do with you. Then you stop personalising issues. I hope this helps.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Meditation has been great for me. It has allowed me to go deeper and find out things about myself I didn’t realize was happening. That subconscious holds on to a lot!
    Consciously, like Lata said, their issues has very little with you. Just say to yourself it’s not me, it’s them and move on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to meditate until I got to a point where emotions I never thought I had started surfacing, that was scary for me and I stopped. I need to start again and work through those subconscious feelings. Thank you for the reminder Kelly 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts <3

