My Words

Hug Thyself

Hug thyself |The Power of a Hug | The Curious Gemini

When was the last time you hugged yourself? You read it right, when was the last time you gave yourself a warm, tight, comforting hug that silently assured you that everything will be fine at the end of the day.

I have always been weird about hugs and I shared my experience here. It is quite strange that you will find individuals who love hugging others  but have never hugged themselves or those (like me) who hardly hug others so you can forget about doing it to yourself. I guess the saying: ‘You cannot give what you do not have’ applies in this case. So as part of my self love ritual I hug myself quite often, when I first started doing it, it was  strange so I would do it in the comfort of my own room. I am  still a bit uncomfortable doing it in front of other people so I usually go in the restroom and hug myself. I remember once I just needed to have a quick hug but going to the restroom was not an option, so I just did it right there at my desk in an open plan office in front of my colleagues…. AWKWARD                         I could not help myself. The soul needs what the soul needs.

So I hope dear readers you start giving yourselves as many hugs as possible, let me know how it goes in the comment section.

Happy Weekend

5 thoughts on “Hug Thyself

  1. I love a good hug, my older 2 kids are now away at uni so the one whose left at home has to have double the number of hugs! He’s pretty good about it really. That’s what I miss most, not being able to hug the kids a couple of times a day. When they were babies I could pick them up and hug them whenever I or they wanted to, now we have to facetime but it’s not the same!
    I will try hugging myself, give my poor son a break maybe!
    I read your post about the awkward hug time too, you remind me of Jay in Modern family with his hug aversion!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Julie
      I saw that episode of Modern Family and I could relate to Jay with hugging. I know hug my little nieces and we call it juice. So when I get home from work I would ask them to give me some juice 🙂
      Your kids are lucky to have a mom who has installed that culture of hugging and they will forever keep that with them. I am sure your son will not like his hugs decreasing lol…. Do share how your first ‘self hug’ went 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts <3

