Motivation · My Words

Gratitude Testimonies

IMG_1771.JPG

Have you ever felt like your life is in a rut.? Like nothing is going right. I felt that way during the months of May/June. I moved back to Namibia, after spending 3 years in South Africa with had high hopes and expectations of a fabulous life back home (I guess too high). Hopes of getting a good paying job, getting my own place for the first time. However, I found out that getting a job wasn’t that easy. Seeing as I didn’t know someone who knows someone who’s uncle is a HR manager in some company, I had to take the long route of sending cold emails to companies and applying for jobs that are not even in my field just so I don’t stay at home. That was so frustrating because my plans where not manifesting at the rate I wanted them to (I blame that on my impatient nature).

One day I was having one of the down days. A thought came to mind. I remember one night while I was doing my Honors final exams. It was the day before my last exams, I was going to write a module called Air Quality Control. We only had one test and assignment for that module, so you had to pass both to obtain enough marks to get into the exams. My results were pretty average, I qualified by the tip of my shoe strings. For some odd reason I just could not get that module. So I prepared for the exams the way I knew how, read through the 500+ paged text book cover to cover several times, made short notes and worked through old question papers. The night before the exams my head was empty, I could not recall a single word or calculation, the fact that my parents were paying for that degree and all my expenses (which were quite costly) meant failing was not an option at all. I remember sitting on my table with papers scattered around my room, at that moment I had less then 10 hours before the exams and I knew whatever I didn’t understand about the module I would never get (I don’t cramp schoolwork so that was not an option). I did the only thing I knew could pull me through. I prayed, I told God that I had no clue what the module was about, I did my part by studying and now I am surrendering it all in His Hands and I went to sleep.

I went into that exams calm and still felt like my head had no information. It took about 3-4 weeks before the results came back. I wept when I saw the marks I got, one thing I knew was this was not me, it had God written all over it, I got a B+. From feeling hopeless to getting a B+.

It is so easy for us to forget the things God has done in our lives when we are faced with challenges. His promises are so easy to remember when everything is going well or when we receive what we have been asking for. And I will admit I usually do that. We don’t talk about our testimonies of gratitude enough with one reason being that we are scared people might think we are bragging and other times we just forget them. An acquaintance once told me that we need to share those stories often so we can remind ourselves of God’s glory and your story might just uplift someone.

gratit

In my 4th week of job hunting, One of my cold emails came back with a response offering me a 3 months internship at a Consultancy. Within a few weeks of my internship, I was offered a job at a construction of a mine (two jobs I had on my career vision board, that’s a post for another day). Yet again God showed up in my situation.

I am now going to focus on God’s blessings in my life. I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11). I might not get what I want when I want it, I can be at peace knowing that His delays are not denials.

What gratitude testimonies do you want to share?

picmonkey_image

8 thoughts on “Gratitude Testimonies

Share your thoughts <3

