Motivation

The Perfect You

One of my resolutions for 2014 is to read 12 books (hopefully 1 book per month), thus far I have read 3, so I have a few more books to read in the next 3 months if I am going to reach my target (fingers crossed). I  was drawn to a book by Marianne Williamson  “A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of a Course in Miracles” after reading a quote from the same book and it is the forth book I am reading this year. I recently read Chapter 3 under the theme ‘You’, for someone who had read a couple of self help books I must say I was blown away by what I read in the first two pages of that chapter. I was instantly filled with so much peace, I wrote a post about being enough and how we sometimes feel we  don’t measure up, Marianne’s words contradicts all of that by describing we we truly are.  YOU ARE PERFECT THE WAY YOU ARE

The Perfect You

 

“You are a child of God. You were created in a blinding flash of creativity, a primal thought when God extended Himself in love. Everything you’ve added on since is useless.”

 

“So it is with you. The perfect you isn’t something you need to create, because God already created it. The perfect you is the love within you. Your job is to allow the Holy Spirit to remove the fearful thinking that surrounds your perfect self, just as excess marble surrounded Michelangelo’s perfect statue.”

 

“To remember that you are part of God, that you are loved and lovable, is not arrogant. It’s humble. To think you are anything else is arrogant, because it implies you’re something other than a creation of God.”

 

Love is changeless and therefore so are you. Nothing that you have ever done or will ever do can mar your perfection in the eyes of God. You’re deserving in His eyes because of what you are, not because of what you do. What you do or don’t do is not what determines your essential value—your growth perhaps, but not your value. That’s why God is totally approving and accepting of you, exactly as you are. What’s not to like? You were not created in sin; you were created in love.”

 

Have you read this book? I would love to hear your thoughts on it

6 thoughts on “The Perfect You

  1. I haven’t read the book, but I love the quote that you shared. We are perfect because we are His. He created us and He doesn’t make mistakes. What beautiful thoughts. I like to think of perfection as being whole.

    Like

Share your thoughts <3

